Title 24 PicTitle 24 California is the 24th part of the California Code of Regulations (CCR). CCR are the new regulations that were passed by the California Legislature in 1978. Before then, the state was governed by the administrative codes. It is, however, important to note that regulations are far different from laws. As a way to improve the existing laws, the legislature sought to add more standards to implement the existing laws of California. Title 24 California consists of regulations to enhance California building standards. The regulations are known as California Building Standards Code (CBSC) and are implemented by the California Building Standards Commission.

According California Title 24 building standards, any construction of a new building or alterations made to an existing building have to meet the standards stated in the Title. The standards were adopted as a way to regulate an energy crisis that the state was experiencing. A lot of energy was being was being misused and wasted resulting to insufficient energy parts of the state.

Many residents misunderstand Title24 as covering only the state owned properties and buildings. However, California Title 24 clearly states that the standards apply to all building occupancies, equipment and all related features. The regulations cover the structural, electrical, mechanical, and plumbing systems of every building constructed or altered after 1978.

Title 24 California is an important document as it conserves the energy consumed, construction and maintenance, life and fire safety, green design and accessibility. These regulations are adopted by all counties and cities within the state together with the other standards that may be enforced by the counties. Although the standards are uniform to all cities and counties, the two are allowed to add more restrictive regulations depending on their geological, climatic and topographical conditions. These adoptions must however be reported and filed with the commission.

The Title is not much restrictive as cities and counties vary in terms of geological and topographical conditions. These conditions depend on the location and its vulnerability to natural calamities such as mudslide, earthquakes or floods. Counties in locations vulnerable to earthquakes, for example, restrict construction of high rise buildings. Other adoptions include restrictions on fire suppression sprinkler systems and safety measures.

California Title 24 composes of the following main codes;

• California Building Code which regulates structure, size and design of construction or alteration of any building within the state.
• California Energy Code (CEC) which inspects and controls usage, distribution and conservation of energy in buildings within California
• California Plumbing Code (CPC) controlling usage, and efficient conservation of water in buildings
• California Fire Code (CFC)enhancing safety measures against fire accidents in the buildings

Other codes included in California Title 24 are California Elevator Safety Construction Code (CESCC), California Existing Building Code (CEBXC), California Mechanical Code (CMC) and California Historical Building Code (CHBC). Due to technology changes, the commission as adopted other codes to enhance energy efficiency. California Green Building Standard Code (CalGreen) was adopted and came into effect of 1st January 2011 to regulate and enhance efficiency energy distribution and usage.

California Title 24 is a mandatory document for anyone planning to construct, refurnish or alter a building in California. The commission requires all homeowners to meet all the requirements for n approved California Building Code.

-Effective January 1, 2014

For Title-24 services or residential/commercial inspections in the Sacramento and Bay Area please contact Golden State Home Inspections at 800.441.0804 or visit: http://www.goldenstatehomeinspections.com



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!